Wednesday, January 4, 2017

"Rogue One: A Star Wars Story" (2016)

Starring Felicity Jones, Diego Luna and Ben Mendelsohn
Written by Chris Weitz and Tony Gilroy
Directed by Gareth Edwards
Rated PG-13 — Sci-fi violence, frightening images
Running Time: 133 Minutes

Nineteen years after the fall of the old Republic, the evil Galactic Empire is building its ultimate weapon: the Death Star, a space station with the power to destroy entire planets. Upon learning of the existence of this weapon, rebel spy Cassian Andor (Diego Luna) and his droid K-2SO (Alan Tudyk) are tasked with finding Jyn Erso (Felicity Jones) the daughter of the man who designed the Death Star.

Jyn, they hope, can get them into a meeting with rebel extremist Saw Gerrera (Forest Whitaker) who has captured an imperial defector (Riz Ahmed) with important info about the Death Star. But the more they learn about this weapon, the more dire the situation becomes. Along with a blind Guardian of the Whills named Chirrut Imwe (Donnie Yen) and his mercenary friend Baze (Jiang Wen), the rebels will engage in their most daring mission against the Empire yet, one that will set the course of the rest of the war...